Blown Call Sends Georgetown to Elite Eight
One problem: Green traveled -- and traveled -- and traveled some more before the shot left his hands.
"He twirled, he twirled, he twirled, and he made a tough, tough contested shot," said John Thompson III directly after the game.
Nothing like a little positive spin on things if you're Georgetown's head man, right? Whirling dervish, indeed. It looks like Green took a page out of Josh McRoberts' playbook.
CBS caught the mistake immediately and opened their post-game session with a discussion on the "officiating controversy." Well, they were only half right. There's no controversy. Green clearly traveled multiple times over the course of two seconds. The referees had an unobstructed view of the proceedings and simply blew the call. Had the travel been called, the ball would have been awarded to Vanderbilt with 2.5 seconds to go. Now, technically I'm not a betting man, but if you told me you were willing to put your money on Georgetown winning this game down one without possession of the ball, I'd have taken that wager.
The wrong team advances and Vandy is robbed of their first Elite Eight appearance since 1965. The blame goes squarely on the officials. Vanderbilt fans, you have every right to be pissed.