Oakland Raiders defensive end Richard Seymour has been fined $7,500 for pulling the hair of Denver Broncos left tackle Ryan Clady on Sunday, a cheap shot that Seymour proudly described afterward as "no mistake."
Seymour showed no remorse afterward: When a reporter asked him whether he might have accidentally gotten his hand caught up in Clady's dreadlocks, Seymour said, "It was no mistake." When he was then pressed to explain, Seymour said, "It wasn't no mistake, brother. Next question."
During play on the field, a player's hair is considered the same as his jersey, so it's not a personal foul to pull an opponent's hair. But pulling hair after a play is against the rules -- and obviously against any concept of what constitutes good sportsmanship -- and Seymour is lucky to get off with such a relatively small fine.
Do you think a $7,500 fine is sufficient punishment? Tell me on Twitter @MichaelDavSmith.