AOL News has a new home! The Huffington Post.

Click here to visit the new home of AOL News!

Hot on HuffPost:

See More Stories

Duke, Kansas, UCLA Highlight Expanded Maui Invitational in 2011

Oct 14, 2010 – 2:22 PM
Text Size
FanHouse Staff

FanHouse Staff %BloggerTitle%

The EA Sports Maui Invitational will get bigger and badder in 2011.

Duke, Kansas, UCLA, Michigan and Georgetown, who own 20 NCAA championships between them, highlight an expanded 12-team field that will be anything but a day at the bench for participating teams.

The tournament will also include a mainland component for the first time, featuring 11 games in the contiguous United States before the 12-game slate at the Lahaina Civic Center, Nov. 21-23.

"We are excited for the growth and expansion of the EA Sports Maui Invitational," tournament chairman Dave Odom, the former coach at Wake Forest and South Carolina said. "More teams from more conferences will now have a chance to show their best among the nation's top teams in the premier early season tournament.

"The 2011 field has the potential to be the best field in tournament history. The combination of rich basketball tradition and recent success should make for incredible competition."

Tennessee, which advanced to the Elite Eight last season, and Memphis, which played in the 2008 national championship game, as well as Division II host Chaminade round out the eight teams that have been announced.

The remaining four teams, which will play in the mainland games, have not be announced.

Beginning with next year's event, the tournament will be played in three stages. The seven Maui-bound teams (Chaminade is the exception) will host the remaining teams, with three of the four mainland teams playing two games and the last team playing one game.

Starting with 2011, the tournament will be played in three parts.

The opening games will be played at the seven Maui-bound schools, with three of the four mainland teams playing two games and the other playing one.

The four mainland teams will play two doubleheaders at one of those schools on Nov. 19-20.

The championship round will remain unchanged at the Lahaina Civic Center.

This year's Maui Invitational will be Nov. 22-24 and features Michigan State, Kentucky, Oklahoma, Connecticut, Wichita State, Virginia, Washington and Chaminade.

Information from the Associated Press was used in this article.
Filed under: Sports